Cycle Rickshaw and Destiny…


Courtesy: Google

The most common sight in Gurgaon or for that matter Delhi is a *Cycle Rikshaw*. Being from a part of India (Maharashtra) where cycle rickshaws are obsolete, we now call auto rikshaw as “rikshaw”, or simply rikshaw. So whenever I say rikshaw, an auto wala also doesn’t turn back and give a look. That’s pretty embarrassing let me tell you.😛

So, cycle rikshaw henceforth referred as rikshaw only, is the most common mode of transport here, apart from a six-seater. Rikshaw comes in cheap also. Where an auto charges 50-70 Rs. a rikshaw charges your meager 25-30 Rs. So with such a difference in charges, anyone would want to go for rikshaw, and so the people here choose the same.

From the very young age, I don’t like cycle rikshaw. I somehow don’t like the idea of one person pulling another 1 or 2 people. It seems a little inhuman to me. But recently when I gave it a thought I came to some different conclusion. I mean I still don’t accept man pulling man as a fair deal but have softened my stand a bit.

The other day I was sitting in a rickshaw. And my mind started the same questionnaire again. Why this ordeal? Why a man pulls another man and we accept it? But from ancient times, we have seen bullock carts and horse carts. We have used bullocks, horses and donkeys for carrying human and other stuff. Seen from that point, a bullock is destined to be a puller. It’s his job. That’s why he is here. He is supposed to run in the field and do all the hard work. Similar is with horses. He is destined to run for long distances carrying one of more men/women on his back.

So, why that should be different for a man? This rickshaw pulling well might be his destiny. He earns his daily bread through this job. And he is not stealing anything. He is asking you for the money of his hard work. So seeing from an ethical and moral point of view, he is right on the track. So pulling another man/woman is his destiny. Once this fact is understood, the other things fall in place.

If we stop sitting in a cycle rickshaw citing the reason that this “man pulling” seems little inhuman, how is that person supposed to earn a bread for himself and his family? So why put your elephant foot on his occupation and in turn his stomach. I make it clear here once again, that I don’t feel comfortable sitting in cycle rickshaw and I always sit on my toes, almost always. But at the same time, feel it is also a job. And as long as the person is on right path, we should not obstruct his way unnecessarily.

So henceforth, I will make it a point that if at all I sit in a cycle rickshaw, I will pay him a bit extra. For his hard work and intentions to work hard.

3 thoughts on “Cycle Rickshaw and Destiny…

Leave a Reply

