Her First Flight…


It was 22nd August 2011 and a day of achievement for me, the achievement of making my mother proud of me. It isn’t that she was not proud of me previously, but the pride was visible in her eyes this time.

It was the day when my mother took a flight for the first time in her life. She was to accompany me to Delhi as we were relocating there.

She knew almost everything of the procedures we have to do once we enter airport. She got to know about them from me, when I took flight for first time. But the anxiety of doing all the things on her own revitalized her. She enthusiastically moved ahead and asked me what needs to be done and mesmerized by the grandeur and the fact that she will be flying for first time. I won’t be able to forget her glittering eyes when we just entered the plane.

While finding our way to our seats, she kept on asking me how the flight moves, about air hostesses and their job, food in flight and whether we get weird feeling in stomach while we are taking off and landing. I was very much happy to answer all the questions. I told her the feeling in stomach is little exaggerated and nothing of that sort happens much.

We took off from Pune towards Delhi. After 15-20 minutes of flight we were in clouds. I asked mom to look out of window and she was amazed to see “cotton spun” all over the sky. She kept on telling my sisters and relatives that the clouds from the window were quite a sight, how beautiful they look and all. And while saying this all, her eyes got moist and broad smile on her face.

I guess that is achievement for me. After all the hard work she has done for me over the years, I was able to bring those emotions of pride in her and I guess that’s the thing I would like to do more and more often🙂

I have achieved a lot of things, both academically and extra-curricular. Going a little further I would also say I have garnered some good opinions about me from outsiders also, but this is the kind of feeling, this is the kind of emotion, the emotion of pride in me is something worth a world to me.

8 thoughts on “Her First Flight…

  1. Yes, This feeling is awesome when you do something very small but meaningful for anyone who loves you, the reaction you get, makes all the efforts worthwhile.🙂
    BTW, I have yet to take my first flight😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

